Lifestyle changes

You read a lot about a good diet and exercise being beneficial for mental health. Maybe it’s even some of the reason mental health illness seems to be on the rise these days. I don’t know. All I know is, when I’m feeling down and lethargic and forgetting reality, it doesn’t even occur to me to exercise. In fact, it sounds like torture. I notice days when I’m feeling more positive I naturally move more – scurrying around the house tidying, walking up to the shop, finding reasons to go up and down the stairs at work. It’s chicken and egg, which causes the other? All I can say for definite is the willpower required to try something – and actually stick to it – is a massive challenge for anyone struggling mentally. 

Plus, when I was near enough to work that it was a 40 minute walk each way, rather than the 30 minute drive it is now, I honestly wasn’t feeling at all good mentally. I suppose that’s the truth: it’s not just one thing that helps. It’s a many-pronged attack from all angles. Just got to keep trying. 

Oh, and don’t forget to be kind to yourself. That’s the bit I’m worst at. 

Leave a Reply

